2017 Summer Outing

Summer Outing celebrates Scholar success

Highlights from the 66th annual Summer Outing

The annual Evans Scholars Summer Outing was held Monday, June 26, at Twin Orchard Country Club in Long Grove, Illinois. Evans Scholars, Alumni, WGA Directors and other friends gathered from across the country to golf, dine and celebrate the success of the Program.

Indiana University Evans Scholar AJ Gauthier was named Evans Scholar of the Year. The award is the top honor a student can receive within the Evans Scholars Program. Along with this individual award, the Northwestern University Evans Scholars chapter was recognized for achieving the highest cumulative GPA, with a 3.5 for the 2016-17 school year.

The Donald D. Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to WGA Directors Tom Horwich and John Kretzschmar, who have served as longtime leaders to the Western Golf Association and Evans Scholars Foundation.

The Evans Scholars inter-chapter golf tournament was won by Luke Nelson and Daniel Waggoner from the University of Minnesota.

Check out the event's best photos!


Evans Scholar of the Year and James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy

AJ Gauthier was named the 2017 Evans Scholar of the Year. The Evans Scholars from Northwestern University earned a 3.5 GPA for the 2016-17 school year and were awarded the James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy.

Read more about the winners of these top awards.


Donald D. Johnson Lifetime Achievement Award

Two longtime WGA Directors, Tom Horwich and John Kretzschmar, were honored in recognition of their exemplary service and commitment to the Western Golf Association and Evans Scholars Foundation

Read more about the recipients of this prestigious award.


Par Club Challenge Cup

Evans Scholars Alumni from Indiana University led the way in 2016 Par Club donations, with 60.1 percent of Alumni making a donation. The chapter won the 2016 Par Club Challenge, which is awarded annually to the chapter with the highest percentage of Alumni giving.        

Learn more about the Par Club Challenge, and see who's leading this year's competition.