Western Amateur

The Masters of amateur golf

The Western Amateur showcases the rising stars of the game. First held in 1899, the Western Amateur features an international field of top-ranked amateur golfers. The 2015 Western Amateur was played Aug. 3-8 at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois.

Visit the Western Amateur website.


2015 Western Amateur Winner: Dawson Armstrong

Dawson Armstrong of Brentwood, Tennessee, defeated Aaron Wise of Elsinore, California, in a thrilling 20-hole final match of the 113th Western Amateur at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Illinois. Armstrong defeated two highly-ranked amateurs -- Robby Shelton of Wilmer, Alabama and Jordan Niebrugge of Mequon, Wisconsin -- to face Aaron Wise, who had earlier in the week set the course record and was coming off a win the previous week at the Pacific Coast Amateur. 

Armstrong, a sophomore at Lipscomb University, holed an eagle on the 20th hole of his match with Wise to claim the 2015 Western Amateur title.

Past Amateur winners


Learn more about our championships by visiting each tournament's official website

Championships for scholarships.
It's a win-win. All proceeds from the BMW Championship benefit Evans Scholars. Since 2007, that's

$19.6 million

in college scholarships for deserving caddies.