Western Amateur

The Masters of amateur golf

The 2018 Western Amateur was played July 30-Aug. 4 at Sunset Ridge Country Club in Northfield, Illinois.

Founded in 1899, the Western Amateur features a 156-player field considered among the deepest and strongest field in amateur. It is the world’s third oldest amateur championship behind the British Amateur (1885) and the U.S. Amateur (1895). 

To win, the Western Amateur champion must play 72 holes of stroke play and finish in the top 16 to qualify for match play. He then must win four matches over two days, meaning that over a five-day period he would have played approximately 144 holes, depending on whether his matches went into extra holes or ended early.

Past champions include Jack Nicklaus, Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson, Ben Crenshaw and Curtis Strange. 

Visit the Western Amateur website.

2018 Western Amateur Winner: Cole Hammer

Cole Hammer of Houston, Texas, defeated Davis Riley of Hattiesburg, Mississippi, 1 up in the final match at Sunset Ridge Country Club in Northfield, Illinois, to win the 2018 Western Amateur.  

A freshman at Texas, Hammer is the 26th medalist to win the tournament and the sixth 18-year-old to hoist the George R. Thorne Trophy. Others include Tiger Woods and H. Chandler Egan. 

Past Amateur winners


Learn more about our championships by visiting each tournament's official website

Championships for scholarships.
It's a win-win. All proceeds from the BMW Championship benefit Evans Scholars. Since 2007, that's

$27 million

in college scholarships for deserving caddies.