Sam Maciejewski named Evans Scholar of the Year


GOLF, Ill. – An Evans Scholar graduate from Ohio State University received the top individual honor awarded by the Evans Scholars Foundation at the Program’s annual Summer Outing banquet on June 25 at Olympia Fields Country Club in Olympia Fields, Illinois.

Ohio State University Evans Scholar Sam Maciejewski was named the 2018 Evans Scholar of the Year, the top honor a student can receive within the Evans Scholars Program.

Along with this individual award, the Northwestern University Evans Scholars were recognized for achieving a cumulative 3.5 GPA for the 2017-18 school year, the highest cumulative GPA across the Program’s 19 chapters. Each of the Foundation’s chapters earned a cumulative GPA above 3.0.

The Evans Scholars Program, which has been run by the Western Golf Association since its founding in 1930, is among the nation’s largest privately-funded scholarship programs. This past year, more than 965 caddies were enrolled as Evans Scholars in 19 leading universities across the nation, and more than 10,800 caddies have graduated as Evans Scholars since the Program began.

Evans Scholars are caddies who have earned a full tuition and housing grant based on their strong caddie record, excellent academics, financial need and outstanding character. Most Scholars attend one of 14 universities across the nation where the Evans Scholars Foundation operates a Scholarship House.

“This year’s winners have shown outstanding leadership both in the classroom and on their campuses,” said WGA President and CEO John Kaczkowski. “We are truly proud of all of them. Their hard work and dedication serves as an inspiration for other students.”

Evans Scholar of the Year

Sam Maciejewski was named the 2018 Evans Scholar of the Year, the most prestigious title a student can earn within the Evans Scholars Program. From Cincinnati, Ohio, Maciejewski caddied at Maketewah Country Club in Cincinnati. He graduated in May from Ohio State University with a 3.2 cumulative GPA and a degree in pharmaceutical sciences. During his time as an Evans Scholar at Ohio State, Maciejewski was elected as chapter president for two terms and was appointed president of the Evans Scholars National Committee, where he implemented national Evans Scholars programs such as an Evans Scholars Day of Service and a mental health awareness initiative. He received multiple Program honors, including the Harold F. Ames Leadership Award and the Thomas R. Binzer Award, which is presented to the top senior Evans Scholar from southwest Ohio. Maciejewski worked within the WGA Caddie Academy for boys last summer as a counselor, and now works full-time for the Evans Scholars Foundation in Golf, Illinois, as a manager of education and Caddie Academies.

Of the Evans Scholarship, Maciejewski says, “Within the time I lived in the Scholarship House and attended Ohio State, I discovered that the Evans Scholarship is way more than I had ever anticipated. Because of the Evans Scholarship, I had the opportunity to attend the great Ohio State University, live in a beautiful house, and find some of my best friends – all while not having to be constantly concerned about being hundreds of thousands of dollars in debt. I am forever grateful.”

James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy

The Evans Scholars from Northwestern University earned a 3.5 cumulative GPA for the 2017-18 school year and were awarded the James E. Moore Scholarship Trophy for academic excellence. The trophy, given annually since 1962, honors Evans Scholarship chapter that earns the highest cumulative GPA for the previous school year. In addition, each of the Foundation’s 19 chapters earned a cumulative GPA above 3.0. All received a plaque honoring their academic achievement at the banquet.


Date: 6/26/2018