WGA names new Directors for 2017

GOLF, IL – The Western Golf Association Board of Governors has named 86 new directors in 2017 to join with more than 600 current WGA directors in conducting the association’s championships and supporting the Evans Scholars Foundation.

The new Directors represent the WGA in 17 states, from Alaska to Massachusetts. (A complete list of the new Directors appears below).

The WGA conducts three golf championships annually, including the BMW Championship, and supports the Evans Scholars Foundation, which provides full tuition and housing college scholarships for golf caddies. The Evans Scholars Program is supported by annual contributions from more than 30,000 Par Club members and proceeds from the BMW Championship.

Founded in 1930 by the WGA and famed amateur golfer Charles “Chick” Evans, the Evans Scholars Foundation is the nation’s largest scholarship program for golf caddies. This year, 935 caddies are attending college on Evans Scholarships. Most Evans Scholars attend one of the 15 universities where the Foundation owns and operates a Scholarship House.

The need for the Evans Scholarship continues to grow. College tuitions are on the rise, and the Foundation is receiving record numbers of Scholarship applications. To meet these challenges, plans are in place to grow the number of Scholars in school to 1,000 by 2020, while expanding the organization’s geographic footprint from coast to coast.

For more information on the WGA and Evans Scholars Program, call (847) 724-4600 or visit www.wgaesf.org.

The new WGA Directors for 2017 and their primary club affiliations, if applicable, are:

Tim Kavanaugh, Evans Scholar Alum

Mike Asher, Denver Country Club
John Gart, Castle Pines Golf Club
Jake Jacobson, Lakewood Country Club
Bart Knox, The Broadmoor Golf Club
Rob Link, Cherry Hills Country Club

Larry Buhl, New Haven Country Club

Scott Ahmad, River Forest Country Club
Jim Anderson, Westmoreland Country Club
Andrew Bennett, Rolling Green Country Club
Hank Bernbaum, Lake Shore Country Club
Ben Brown, Barrington Hills Country Club
Nathan Brown, Glen View Club
JP Bryan, Aurora Country Club
William Cavanagh, Rolling Green Country Club
Joe DiBuono, Butterfield Country Club
Larry Dolan, Rolling Green Country Club
Brian Farley, Barrington Hills Country Club
Blair Haarlow, Hinsdale Golf Club
Chris Hoffer, Westmoreland Country Club
Neil Hughes, Butler National Golf Club
Laura Johnson, Inverness Golf Club
Dan Murphy, Wynstone Golf Club
David Nyren, Sunset Ridge Country Club
James Ozog, Village Links of Glen Ellyn
Troy Phillips, River Forest Country Club
Jim Placio, North Shore Country Club
Benedict Rocchio, North Shore Country Club
Mike Valentine, Crystal Lake Country Club

Todd Carlson, Meridian Hills Country Club
Brian Collins, Long Beach Country Club
Pat Schaefer, Meridian Hills Country Club

Jim Malone, Sankaty Head Golf Club

Jamey Nugent Columbia Country Club

Kenneth Brody, The Dunes Club
David FitzSimons, Country Club of Detroit
Martin French, Birmingham Country Club
Pete Russell, Oakland Hills Country Club

Brett Balber, Meadowbrook Country Club
Rick Forshaw IV, Old Warson Country Club
Cory Spielberg, Westwood Country Club

Lori Brown, Golden Valley Golf & Country Club
Melinda Brown, Somerset Country Club
Timothy Dunleavy, North Oaks Golf Club
Derek Hansen, Minneapolis Golf Club
Anita Leggott, Interlachen Country Club
Mike McHugh, Somerset Country Club
Kathy Sweeney, MN Valley Country Club

New Jersey
Francis (Fro) Heine, Spring Lake Golf Club
Mike Jabon, Montclair Golf Club 

New York
Patrick M. Bailey, Oak Hill Country Club, Rochester

Charles Adler, Westwood Country Club
Kevin Grabeman, Brookside Golf & Country Club
Matt Howland, Hyde Park Golf & Country Club
Scott Mattis, Losantiville Country Club
Damon Muldoon, Brookside Golf & Country Club
George Pascoe, Western Hills Country Club
Dick Ressner, Inverness Club
Rob Ries, Terrace Park Country Club
Pat Scott, Scioto Country Club
Chris Virgulak, Heritage Club

Jon Anderson, Eugene Country Club
Jeff Elder, Eugene Country Club
John Morgan, Waverley Country Club

David Ciacchini, The Kahkwa Club
Dario Cipriani, The Kahkwa Club
Tim Nettles, St. Clair Country Club
Vaughn Schill, Aronimink Golf Club

Dan Hay, Glendale Country Club

Nate Colson, Ozaukee Country Club
Mike Earley, Big Foot Country Club
Bob Feerick, Ozaukee Country Club
Kevin Frisinger, Westmoor Country Club
Mike George, Big Foot Country Club
Jim Grogan, North Hills Country Club
John Hagenah, Lake Geneva Country Club
Larry Kean, Westmoor Country Club
Michael Keiser, Sand Valley GR
Liz Krieg, Milwaukee Country Club
Dwight Kruse, Beloit Club
Bob Laser, Big Foot Country Club
Brian Liddy, Oneida Golf & Country Club
Joe Pringle, Lake Geneva Country Club
Jim VanEyck, Wausau Country Club

Date: 2/8/2017