OSU Scholar named National Committee President


GOLF, Ill. – Ohio State Evans Scholar Sam Maciejewski has been named the new president of the Evans Scholars National Committee for the 2017-18 academic year, organization leaders have announced.

The National Committee, composed of top leaders from across the Program’s 15 chapters, helps plan Program-wide activities and participates in philanthropic and organizational events, including the BMW Championship.

“It is an honor to be able to serve as president of the Evans Scholars National Committee,” said Sam, a junior at Ohio State University. “The Evans Scholarship has been a life-changing opportunity for me, and I am proud to represent the Program and help raise awareness of it on a national basis.”

Sam caddied at Maketewah Country Club in Cincinnati, Ohio. When he was three, his father died of cancer, and his mom moved to Ohio with three young children, returning to school for her nursing degree. Uncertain about how they would afford college, Sam learned about caddying and the Evans Scholarship.

Sam is now a two-time president of the Ohio State Evans Scholars chapter, currently serving his second term. He is studying pharmaceutical science and plans to be a hospital pharmacist with specialized expertise in oncology.

“Within the time I have lived in the Scholarship House and attended college, I have discovered that this opportunity is more than I ever anticipated,” he said. “I am forever grateful to be an Evans Scholar.”


Did you know?

  • There are now 965 Evans Scholars in school
  • There are more than 10,600 Evans Alumni across the country
  • Evans Scholars are enrolled at 19 universities across the nation, including 14 where the Foundation owns and operates Scholarship Houses